Time to go.. Two weeks has flown and now so must I. I am heading back to mainland Chile to meet up with my friend Sharon and strike our own path down to Tierra del Fuego.

This is just a quick update as I prepare to leave this amazing, crazy island.

I thought I had more day, but it is February and even in a leap year it is a month that is just not long enough.

Easter Island has exceeded expectations. I picked here as a place to not do too much, to stay in one spot for a little bit.. and it is perfect for that.

It has been tonic and an eye-opener for a world weary soul.

If you come here, don’t come for one of two days. Stay.

It is a small island and it may seem like you can just rocket around the place and snap a few photos of the moai, but there is a wonderful culture here fighting for survival.

I’ll write more soon, but I need to soak up the last few hours that I have left here on Rapa Nui.

Comments

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. March 1, 2012

    After reading your blog about this incredible country, I am certainly going to visit it someday when I eventually commence my world travels.

    Thanks for sharing. x

  2. March 8, 2012

    It’s been a wonderful eye-opener Karen, thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS